A PERSONAL QUERY

Then Jesus asked, “But who do you say I am?” MARK 8:29

Jesus turns [to his disciples] and asks them the question. The question. “But who do you say I am?” He doesn’t ask, “What do you think about what I’ve done?” He asks, “Who do you say that I am?” …

He doesn’t ask, “Who do your friends think I am? … Who do your parents think I am? … Who do your peers think I am?” He poses instead a starkly personal query, “Who do you think I am?” …

You have been asked some important questions in your life:

Will you marry me?

Would you be interested in a transfer?

What would you think if I told you I was pregnant?

You’ve been asked some important questions. But the grandest of them is an anthill compared to the Everest found in the eighth chapter of Mark.

Who do you say that I am?

from THE INSPIRATIONAL STUDY BIBLE

Leave a comment