Many Of Us Live With A Certain Dread Of The Future

MANY OF US LIVE WITH A CERTAIN DREAD OF THE FUTURE. A fear that some day the bottom will fall out. A fear that the plague will eventually get us.

 

Jesus, our loving Shepherd, can lay those fears to rest. Consider His promises in Psalm 23:

 

If I am fearful of loosing my way, He offers me direction: “He leads me beside quiet waters… ”

 

If I am fearful of poverty, He offers me provision: “I shall not be in wantmy cup overflows… ”

 

If I am fearful of fatigue or burnout, He offers me rest and renewal: “He makes me lie down in green pastures beside quiet watersHe restores my soul.

 

If I am fearful of spiritual compromise, He offers me growth: “He guides me in paths of righteousness for His names sake… ”

 

If I am fearful of loneliness, He offers me His companionship and solace: “You are with me; Your rod and Your staff, they comfort me… ”

 

If I am fearful of humiliation, He offers me honor: “You anoint my head with oil… ”

 

If I am fearful of calamity, He offers me His bountiful kindness: “Surely goodnesswill follow me all the days of my life… ”

 

If I am fearful of rejection or isolation, He offers me His merciful favor: “Surelylove will follow me all the days of my life… ”

 

If I am fearful of being lost, He offers me His salvation: “I will dwell in the house of the Lord forever.

 

The only requirement on my part to receive the care and protection of this devoted Shepherd, is total surrender to His Lordship.

 

After all, the Psalmist did start the 23rd Psalm with, “The Lord is my Shepherd!

 

QUESTION: Is there an area of your life that you have not relinquished to His Lordship? Why not surrender it to Him today and begin to experience the freedom and joy of living under His sovereign and loving care?

 

 

Leave a Reply

