How Badly Do You Really Want God?

He that cometh to me shall never hunger; and he that believeth on me shall never thirst.—John 6:35

Blessed are they which do hunger and thirst after righteousness: for they shall be filled” (Matthew 5:6). Hunger and thirst are physical sensations which, in their acute stages, may become real pain.

It has been the experience of countless seekers after God that when their desires become a pain they were suddenly and wonderfully filled. The problem is not to persuade God to fill us, but to want God sufficiently to permit Him to do so.

The average Christian is so cold and so contented with his wretched condition that there is no vacuum of desire into which the blessed Spirit can rush in satisfying fullness. BAM008

Child of the kingdom, be filled with the Spirit.

Nothing but fullness thy longing can meet;

‘Tis the enduement for life and for service

Thine is the promise, so certain, so sweet.

“I will pour water on him who is thirsty,

I will pour floods upon the dry ground;

Open your heart for the gift I am bringing.

While ye are seeking me, I will be found.” HCL243

2 thoughts on “How Badly Do You Really Want God?

Leave a comment