Yes! We Do Have Hope And A Future!

“‘For I know the plans I have for you,‘” declares the Lord, plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.‘”(Jeremiah 29:11)

I turned 60 years old the other day. And I am surprised! I thought by this age I would be shot. Angry. Out of breath. Cynical. Brittle. Burned out. Over the hill. A “Busted Flushas my Father would say.

Here are two good reasons why it does not need to turn out that way:

1. GOD CAN BE TRUSTED!

In 1951, at age 15 I stumbled forward in a Billy Graham Crusade and genuinely met Jesus Christ. Over the next several years God brought men into my life who discipled me. As my understanding developed, I set out to believe and obey the Word of God without equivocation.

As I began to grasp God’s eternal purposes, I chose to surrender my life to Him without reservation – To give my life away in serving others for the Gospel. That is not to say that I was always victorious, but I sincerely sought to grow in that direction.

I can testify from 45 years of experience with God that Joshua 21:45 is true!

Not one of all the Lords good promises to the house of Israel failed; every one was fulfilled.

2. WHAT YOU SOW, YOU REAP!

What goes up, must come down. “A man reaps what he sows.” (Galatians 6:7)

In those early years I chose to deal with my hang-ups; with the enslaving sins, the fears, and the bitterness. I brought these needs to Christ, claimed His promises, and appropriated His grace and victory.

So here I am at age 60 experiencing His joy and freedom in great measure. No “Busted Flush“here! Rather, I am encountering the truth of Psalm 18:19:

He brought me out into a spacious place; He rescued me because he delighted in me.

What a joy! What an adventure! What hope and a future!

The good news is that this hope and future is available to anyone who chooses to live it His way!

2 thoughts on “Yes! We Do Have Hope And A Future!

Leave a comment